Something old, something new…..

It has been a while since I have put words to screen as opposed to pen to paper, but I have not been idle – I do not know the meaning of the word.

I have long enjoyed trying to  breathe new life into old furniture, at the beginning as a means of necessity as opposed to a hobby,  but  I have joined a wonderful set of ladies at an upholstery class in a village hall near Bury St Edmunds.  Each Wednesday we all meet and work away at our various objects and put the world to rights over lunch.  The standard of the upholstery is of a very high standard and a few could easily do this professionally.  It is so pleasing to see a piece of very sad furniture transformed into a thing of beauty over the weeks. It is challenging, very physical and very satisfying looking at a completed project.  I have so far completed 2 chairs and have become addicted to it. Watch this space for further projects – I have 4 more chairs waiting for transformation and a bit of tlc.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Before – red leatherette dining chair

IMG_20170801_170246

After – Harlequin Spotty fabric

This entry was posted in Crafts, Design and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment